What's the difference between syncing and logging?

We reference the terms syncing and logging a lot in our help docs and understanding the difference between them is important. 

Syncing refers to any activity (email/event) that Groove logs back to Salesforce using our background/server sync.

Logging refers to the user actually manually clicking/checking the Log button in Gmail/GCal when sending an email/creating an event.

Are Person Accounts Supported?

Yes, Groove fully supports Salesforce orgs that have person accounts enabled. That means you can display person account records in the sidebar as well as configure Groove to allow users to created person account records from the sidebar.

What version of TLS does Groove use?

Groove is using TLS version 1.2

Why are emails/events getting logged multiple times?

This typically happens because another application in addition to Groove is logging these emails/events. To ensure this no longer happens, you will want to disable any applications that do an email/event sync from your SFDC if they are no longer being used. 

Here's how you can disable those other applications:

  1.  Go to Setup | Connected Apps OAuth Usage in SFDC
  2. Click 'Block' next to those applications you suspect are syncing emails/events to SFDC (note: you may want to confirm people are no longer using that application before doing this)

Note: You may also want to check which applications have access to your Salesforce org and block any of those that are no longer being used.

Why do all of my Salesforce users have the 'Groove Standard Permissions' permission set in Salesforce?


Groove is a managed package and contains a number of Visualforce pages, Apex code and custom fields. These are invisible to users that don't have a Groove license, but once you give a user a Groove license, these are only accessible to the user if you set the corresponding permission on their profile. Without this permission set, Groove might not work properly and it would be unmanageable to do this for each user. That's why Salesforce suggests as best practice to add a permission set to a managed package and make sure this is automatically assigned to all users. This ensures that Groove works properly without any effort beyond adding a license.

Rest assured that a permission set from a managed package can only add permissions to components that are part of that managed package. That way it can't secretly undermine restrictions you have added. For example groove's permission set cannot "overrule" field level security on any of your fields.

Did this answer your question?