Flows are great for when you want to structure your communication with customers!
Flows allow you to scale up the amount of conversations you're having without sacrificing the quality of those conversations.
Note: All emails sent from a Flow come directly from your Google account and look as if you sent it directly from your Gmail inbox.
Creating a Flow
Here's how you can create a Flow!
1. Click on the following in Gmail or go here.
2. Click the '+' button in the upper right hand corner:
3. Name the Flow and give it a description
- Automatically remove people who replied: By checking this, whenever a person replies to any of the emails in the Flow, they will automatically be removed from the Flow (this is great for when you are doing cold outreach and want someone removed once they reply to one of your emails)
- Automatically remove people if their email address bounced: If this is unchecked, the person will be placed back into the step the email was sent from so that you can try correcting the email address and sending again
- Create a Campaign in Salesforce: this will create a campaign in Salesforce that mirrors the Flow. Learn more below. Note: if this option is disabled, your Salesforce admin hasn't granted you permissions to create Salesforce campaigns.
4. Create email, auto-email, call, and other action steps for the Flow
- Send an email: This option allows you to customize each email before it is sent and is our most popular step type
- Auto-send an email: This will automatically send the email to people at the time specified once they reach that step (Note: if there are any issues with merge fields, the email will not be sent)
- Make a phone call: Call steps allow you to easily log calls back to Salesforce
- Take other action: Can be used for any other actions you would like to have logged back to Salesforce (great for logging LinkedIn messages)
Note: If you want an email to show up as a reply to a previous email step, check Include in thread
6. Click 'Next' to see a quick summary, then click 'Preview Flow' to start using your flow.
Executing on your Flows
You will be sending emails, logging calls, and completing tasks in what we call worksteps in Flow. You'll know a step is due for action when the icon of the step turns Groove blue:
Click on the blue icon with due actions to start emailing or calling your clients!
For 'send an email' steps:
On our email workstep page is where you can customize and personalize each of the emails before sending them:
When you're ready to send them out, you can:
- Send each email individually or you can do send in bulk by clicking 'Send All' in the upper right hand corner
- Schedule individual or all emails by checking the 🕛 (clock) icon next to the 'Send' and 'Send all' button
For 'auto-send an email' steps:
Automated email steps will automatically send your emails when your clients have reached that day in your step, and at the time that you've specified.
However, you do have the option of sending out these emails early if you'd like to do so before they reach that day and time. If you click on the blue 'Active' text in a step, you can execute those actions early.
In this case, you'd land on another email workstep page, where you can send out the emails before they would have gone out automatically.
For 'make a call' steps:
Click into your Due actions to begin calling the people in this step.
If you're not using Groove Dialer, you can make your call from your phone system, then fill out the Call Result and finally Log the call to move on to the next person on the list.
If you are using Groove Dialer, you can call your clients directly from this screen, and also log those calls back to Salesforce.
By clicking 'More' on the call log screen you'll see a few different options for how you want to proceed with your prospects in this step:
Log and Pause person on this step until: this option allows you to specify a day until when you'd like to keep this person in that step. This is useful for when you tried calling a prospect, but didn't get ahold of them, so you'd like to keep them in the step and try calling again.
Log and remove from Flow: this option is useful for when you did connect with your prospect and can continue the conversation with them outside of the flow (similar to automatically removing people who replied to your email steps).
Log and move to another Flow: this option is useful for when your prospect asked you to call back in a few months, so you'd like to put them in another Flow, such as a Nurture Flow in which they'll get a touch a few weeks down the line.
Mark as Complete (without Logging): this option will mark this person as having completed the step, but won't log a call for them in Salesforce.
Skip this step: this option will move this person to the next step, if you would not like to call them.
Skip all call steps: this option will have the person skip this step and all future call steps in the flow, so that they move through the Flow only on email, auto email, and other action steps. This is useful when you don't have a phone number for a prospect, but you'd still like to send them the emails in this Flow.
Congrats on creating your first Flow and please let us know if you have any questions!
For best results, we recommend that your Flows are around 7-12 touches spread across a couple of weeks.
Create a Salesforce Campaign with Your Flow
For each flow you can create a campaign in Salesforce which will mirror the flow and all the people you add as campaign members. That way you can take advantage of all the ROI features of Salesforce campaigns.
For instance, if you add a leads to an outreach Flow and some leads converts to an opportunity and some opportunities close, you can later report on the effectiveness of the Flow by looking at the ROI stats in the Salesforce campaign, such as:
- Converted leads in Campaign
- Opportunities in Campaign
- Value Opportunities in Campaign
- Won Opportunities in Campaign
- Value Won Opportunities in Campaign
Creating a Salesforce campaign requires extra permission in Salesforce. In order to grant a Salesforce user these permission, follow these steps:
- Setup > Manage Users
- Find the user in the list and click Edit
- On the user details page, enable the option "Marketing User"
- Click Save
Notice that you might have exceeded the number of Marketing User feature licenses in your org, so the checkbox might be grayed out.